Home Blog How to Download the New iOS 17 on Your iPhone Today

How to Download the New iOS 17 on Your iPhone Today

0

Apple's mobile operating system will be updated soon. Discover how to put it on your iPhone.

How to Download the New iOS 17 on Your iPhone Today

Are you prepared? Apple intends to make the latest version of the iPhone’s operating system, iOS 17, available to everyone who has a compatible iPhone today.

The majority of the iOS 17 update process will be handled by your iPhone, but you may do a few things to prepare before installing the latest version of iOS. Continue reading for a step-by-step guide on installing iOS 17 on your iPhone.

 

Read our iOS 17 review and check out some of the greatest iOS 17 features for more information on the brand-new iPhone OS.

Next, before installing iOS 17, back up your iPhone

While exploring all of the new features of iOS 17 might be thrilling, you should take a few precautions before switching to the new operating system. Back up your iPhone before updating to guarantee that all of your personal and phone data is safe. This also gives you the option of returning to iOS 16 if you discover that iOS 17 isn’t for you.

If your iPhone is connected to power and Wi-Fi and the default settings are enabled, it will back up your data on a regular basis during sleep hours. If the automatic backup option is turned off, you may manually backup your device by going to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup and then clicking Back Up Now.

 

After backing up your iPhone, do these three things before installing iOS 17

To make the download and installation process go as smoothly as possible, it helps to take a few steps to prepare:

  • Make sure your iPhone is connected to power. You won’t be able to download iOS 17 if you’re under 50% battery, so it’s safest to plug in your phone while you update. Even if you’re plugged in, the battery needs to be over 20% to install iOS 17.
  • Connect to Wi-Fi. You won’t be able to download iOS 17 using your mobile data, so connect to a stable Wi-Fi network before starting the installation.
  • Clear up enough storage space. The iOS 17 file size will be several gigabytes, and if you’re running out of storage, you’ll need to clear some room before you can download and install iOS 17. Go to Settings > General > iPhone Storage to delete large files and apps.

Check out these easy tricks for optimising your iPhone storage to create more free space.

Next, before installing iOS 17, back up your iPhone

How to download and install iOS 17 when it's available today

After you’ve finished all of the prerequisites, you’ll be able to download and install iOS 17. When iOS 17 is officially released, open your iPhone and navigate to Settings > General > Software Update. Wait a few seconds (or minutes) for the update to arrive, then select Install Now for iOS 17 (or Install Tonight for later installation).

When will the iOS 17 update be available today for iPhone users?

At its “Wonderlust” event on Sept. 12, Apple said that iOS 17 will be available for all compatible iPhones today, Monday, Sept. 18.

Apple typically releases its major updates to iOS at 10 a.m. PT, which means that most iPhone users in the US will get access to iOS 17 in the late morning or early afternoon today. Here’s when we expect iPhone users to see iOS 17:

  • iPhone users in Hawaii: 7 a.m.
  • iPhone users in Alaska: 9 a.m.
  • iPhone users on PT: 10 a.m.
  • iPhone users on MT: 11 a.m.
  • iPhone users on CT: 12 p.m.
  • iPhone users on ET: 1 p.m.
  • iPhone users on BST: 6 p.m.
  • iPhone users at 3 a.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 19.

For more on the new OS, here’s a look at all the best new features in iOS 17, as well as some of the secret features of iOS 17 you might not know about yet.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here